An Amazon Seller Forums announcement says that, starting October 26, 2026, sellers will be asked new dangerous-goods compliance questions when they next create or edit a listing for four specified product groups. The immediate change is a listing-information step. It is not, based on the public announcement, a newly announced product-certification scheme or a blanket instruction to retest every Amazon product.

The practical judgment is therefore narrower: map the real product facts to the affected listing, then confirm the exact marketplace, fields, and documentation format shown in the seller's own Seller Central account. The public notice does not provide enough information to make every ASIN decision from outside the account.

What the announcement actually says

The News_Amazon announcement was published on September 25, 2026 according to the page metadata. Its body says Starting October 26, 2026. From that date, the listed products will have new compliance questions at the next listing creation or listing edit.

Amazon describes the purpose as identifying dangerous goods, enabling more delivery options, and reducing unnecessary disposal costs and fees. Those are the platform's stated purposes and potential benefits. They should not be rewritten as a guaranteed approval, guaranteed delivery-option expansion, or guaranteed protection against listing delays.

The trigger matters. The announcement does not say that every existing listing must be rebuilt before October 26. It describes a question appearing when a seller next creates or edits a listing for one of the specified product groups.

The four product groups and their information directions

Refrigerators, air conditioners, freezers, and similar products

The question direction is refrigerant gas properties. The useful preparation is to connect the actual refrigerant used by the specific model with the product record. A broad label such as “cooling equipment” is not the same as the requested property, and the public announcement does not supply a complete field list, threshold, or submission format.

Shock absorbers and suspension lift supports

The question direction is the shock-absorbing mechanism. The seller should be able to identify how the particular product provides shock absorption, support, or lift and link that fact to the model and listing. The notice does not say that a document from another product or another testing process automatically answers this question.

Markers and writing instruments

The question direction is ink properties. A generic “writing instrument” label may not capture the relevant product facts. The seller should distinguish the actual ink information for the relevant model, color, or formulation where applicable, and then answer the fields displayed in the account. The announcement does not establish one mandatory test report for every writing instrument.

Pool and spa water-treatment products

The question direction covers chemical composition and packaging. Both parts matter. A composition record without the related packaging information, or packaging information without the actual composition, may not give the seller enough context to answer the account question accurately. The public notice does not prescribe a single SDS, transport test, UN38.3, UL document, insurance policy, or certification file as a universal submission for this group.

These groups share a listing-information trigger, but not one interchangeable fact set. A generic dangerous-goods packet can obscure the product-specific attribute that the listing flow is asking about.

What the public notice does not establish

Full marketplace scope

The notice appears in Seller Central, but its public body does not specify a complete marketplace or country scope. It also does not state that every seller account, seller location, or Amazon site will display identical questions. A seller should not turn this into an Amazon.com-only rule, a global rule, or a universal rule for sellers in a particular country without checking the account.

A complete category tree or field list

The four groups are directions given in the announcement, not a complete public category tree for screening every ASIN. The notice also does not list all question fields, thresholds, or accepted file formats. It links to Amazon's Dangerous goods (hazmat) required information and documentation help page, but the detailed content requires Seller Central context.

For that reason, this article does not prescribe SDS, UN38.3, UL, insurance, or a particular test report as a universal requirement. Product-safety testing, transport or dangerous-goods classification, insurance, and listing questions are different evidence layers. One document may help explain a product fact without automatically replacing another process.

An unresolved August 31 sentence

The announcement also says that existing listings in the relevant categories did not need action before August 31, 2026. That date is earlier than the September 25 publication date and the October 26 start date stated elsewhere in the notice. It should be retained as an unresolved inconsistency. It should not be silently converted into a current grace period, October 26 deadline, October 31 deadline, or any other corrected date.

A practical review sequence

First, map each SKU, model, or formulation to the relevant direction: refrigerant properties; shock-absorbing mechanism; ink properties; or chemical composition and packaging. Second, open the relevant Seller Central account and confirm the actual marketplace, listing, fields, and documentation format. Third, compare existing product records with those account-specific fields before deciding what, if anything, must be supplemented.

This is a practical reading of the announcement, not an additional Amazon form or guaranteed workflow. It does not require a seller to guess every document from a public notice, and it does not mean that every product must be retested. For existing inventory, the public wording supports a listing-edit trigger; it does not support a claim that every existing listing must be fully redone before October 26.

Source and boundary

Source: Amazon Seller Forums, News_Amazon announcement, published September 25, 2026 according to the page metadata and stating “Starting October 26, 2026” in the body. The linked Dangerous goods help page requires Seller Central context for the detailed questions.

This article explains the listing-information boundary supported by the public notice. It does not classify a particular product under dangerous-goods law or transport rules, determine whether a specific ASIN will pass Amazon review, or promise a listing, delivery, or approval outcome.